LS3020 Uneven cut

Moderators: HPC, Daven

dreamcatcher

LS3020 Uneven cut

Post by dreamcatcher »

Hi all
We've had our LS3020 for about 6 weeks now and are having fun with it. So I'm a complete newbie! However we've noticed the cut and engraving are a bit uneven. It's ok at the top of the laser bed but by the time we get to the bottom part the engraving looks weaker and sometimes it doesn't cut right through (3mm birch).
I've tried running the engrave a second time at the bottom and repeating the cut but I still don't know why this is happening. My husband is more technically minded and has cleaned and aligned the mirrors and done a ramp test (we saw the info for that on this forum so thank you). As a result of the ramp test he lowered the bed a bit to 75mm and that improved things a bit but not completely solved.

Has anyone else had this problem? Any suggestions gratefully received. :)
dreamcatcher

Re: LS3020 Uneven cut

Post by dreamcatcher »

I should have said in case it helps , its the LS3020 LSCT running lasercut 5.3. I design using Corel Draw home edition.
Thanks

Pamela
Daven

Post by Daven »

Is the bed level? Check under it to make sure nothing has got under it? If you cut a circle in each corner do they all drop out?

If you immediately start engraving at the top of the sheet again is it ok or still weak? If so could be a cooling issue.

Best
Dave
Using two LS3060's and an ex 3020 user
Please note I am not employed by HPC, any advice or recomendations I give are based on my own experience and are not necessarily the same as HPC's. First point of contact on any hardware issues should be with HPC
dreamcatcher

Post by dreamcatcher »

Thanks for the reply Dave. I really appreciate your help.
The cuts at the top drop out but at the bottom they don't unless I increase power or slow speed. The laser is in a shed outside and we have temp gauge that doesn't get above 18. The water is clean. The engraving at the top is fine but gets weaker the lower it goes.