FIRE in the machine!

Moderators: HPC, Daven

jball44

FIRE in the machine!

Post by jball44 »

Hi there,

I am a technician at a school and we have a LS1290 in our department. Over the past 2 years the machine has had a considerable amount of issues from the laser tube (which was replaced only 8 months ago) to the mirrors to the power supply blowing the fuse.

I have spent the last 4 weeks constantly realigning the mirrors as they readjust with the slightest movement of the machine- which has been a nightmare as you can probably understand. I have been trying to work out why the machine is cutting so inconsistently and hadn't noticed a loose cable at the back. We then plugged this back in and the fuse blew- can you tell me what this cable is for (shown in the picture)?

Also on Friday a problem occurred that had never been an issue before. Another loose cable on the right hand side of the machine got caught on the gantry as the laser was in motion, even though we cannot see a problem with the wire the machine is now catching fire in the back right corner (as shown in the pictures).

Please can someone shed some light on this situation? It is driving me up the wall and we need the machine to work properly before the students have to start their projects.

Attachments
Unknown cable
Unknown cable
Location of fire
Location of fire
Daven

Re: FIRE in the machine!

Post by Daven »

I would recommend having a visit by HPC ASAP - they can carry out safety checks before anyone uses it. Not sure what the black cable is, could be the red dot led which is low voltage.

Get HPC to check it over ASAP and do not use it until then!

Best
Dave
Using two LS3060's and an ex 3020 user
Please note I am not employed by HPC, any advice or recomendations I give are based on my own experience and are not necessarily the same as HPC's. First point of contact on any hardware issues should be with HPC
jball44

Post by jball44 »