New to laser cutters and need advice asap

Moderators: HPC, Daven

andy_gdon

New to laser cutters and need advice asap

Post by andy_gdon »

As per title.

I have a budget to buy a laser cutter for the school, so I want to get one that is safe but also capable of being very versatile. I am looking at the 6090.

It will be used to cut 5mm+ acrylic for rulers, keyrings etc but i'd also like to put detailing onto wooden projects at GCSE and A Level, place mats etc for junior school....and I'm sure that I'll be enlisted to produce signage for around the school!!

I'll obviously be buying the extractor as well as the cutter, but I was hoping people could give me advice as I'm new to this stuff...please bear with me!!

1. The two other machines I've looked at and seen in action are much dearer but seem to have weaker lasers, and the replacement tubes cost £3k. Why is there such a price difference. I've included links to these.

http://www.techsoft.co.uk/products/laser-cutting/ Id be looking at the 30w one at £14

or

http://www.technologysupplies.co.uk/Mer ... er-Package

My budget would be gone with these machines, I couldnt buy a nice laptop to run the software...and the price of the replacement tubes!!

2. The other machines have honeycomb beds - will this be much of an advantage?

3. I intend on buying techsoft 2d - i assume this will run the cutter ok?

4. could i do projects that involve cutting images/jpegs etc running the above software?

5. How useful is the rotary arm? i was thinking that it would make a great seller and fund raiser around xmas to have ultide glasses :)

Any other advice?

Want to order this machine asap so any input would be greatly appreciated!!
Spooky

Re: New to laser cutters and need advice asap

Post by Spooky »

Hi Andy,

1: The two other machines you reference use a different kind of tube, The tubes these use are filled with gas and are usually air cooled,when they fail or wear out the tube can be re-gassed at a cost of £3000 or so.